Murder and Manslaughter Defense Attorney in Redwood City
Murder is the single most serious criminal charge under California law, shortly followed by manslaughter. If you’ve been accused of ending someone’s life accidentally or on purpose, you need to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney to defend yourself.
Murder and manslaughter carry the most severe penalties of any crime, so it’s essential that you work with a violent crime attorney in Redwood City to argue on your behalf. The expert lawyer at the Law Offices of M. Gabriela Guraiib has the experience and knowledge necessary to provide you with the best possible defense against your charges.
The Difference Between Manslaughter and Murder
Murder and manslaughter are closely related crimes. Both crimes involve killing another person, but they cover different circumstances. Almost all of these charges are felonies.
Murder is divided into two degrees of severity. First-degree crimes involve killing someone with advanced planning or by accident during another serious crime. Second-degree involves killing someone unintentionally while taking actively malicious actions, such as accidentally shooting someone when you just meant to scare them.
Manslaughter is less severe only because it is not performed with active malice or planning. There are three types of these charges:
What Are the Penalties for Murder in California?
First-degree murder is penalized with 25 years to life in prison. However, this charge can be in creased to capital murder if it involved special circumstances like torture, lying in wait, or using a destructive device. It can only lead to life sentences in prison without parole or the death penalty. It is the only crime for which the death sentence is permissible in California. Second-degree murder has only slightly lighter penalties of 15 years to life in prison.
You may also be charged with attempted murder if you are accused with trying to kill someone but failing. Attempted first-degree charges are penalized by 25 years to life in prison, while second-degree attempts are punished by up to nine years in prison.
What Are the Penalties for Manslaughter in California?
Manslaughter penalties are less severe since they are not premeditated. Voluntary manslaughter can be punished by up to 11 years in prison. Involuntary is punishable by up to four years in prison.
Felony vehicular manslaughter may be punished by up to six years in prison if you acted with “gross” (excessive) negligence like driving significantly over the speed limit or while intoxicated. Misdemeanor charges are punishable by up to one year in county jail for “ordinary” negligence such as driving while distracted.
Work with Experienced Manslaughter and Murder Defense Attorneys
If you’ve been accused of killing someone for any reason, you need to contact an experienced violent crime attorney immediately.
Get in touch with our expert violent crime attorney at our Redwood City law office by calling (650) 263 1103 or sending a message. We will listen to your case, protect your rights, and help you defend yourself against the worst charges and penalties in California.